LAT Press Support Contact


Following the last year's successful launch of Renewable Futures ( – the biannual travelling conference series) – this year RIXC with its European partners from Changing Weathers project, and other collaborating institutions and universities from the Baltic Sea region and Europe, are introducing Open Fields, aiming to develop it towards an annual Riga based gathering for the discussion on artistic reseach, the changing role of arts in societies, art's transformative potential, and relations to sciences.

Open Fields will be investigating the use of data visualizations and other mappings of the contemporary. It will look into areas such as open commons, the future of social interaction, data representation and visualisation, critical design, sustainable infrastructures, eco-aesthetics, techno-ecologies, bio-hacking and other techniques of a transformative potential. No Field is excluded, yet there should always be a connection with art; it is highly likely that art works and conference papers will touch on several Fields, not one. It is such an enhanced understanding of transdisciplinarity that drives this undertaking.

Conference keynote speakers:

Christiane PAUL / New School / Whitney Museum / New York

Jussi PARIKKA / Winchester School of Art / University of Southampton / UK

Monica BELLO / Arts At CERN/ Switzerland

and others – tbc.

* Participatory sessions and Book-Reviews by Authors

The Conference also will feature “Open Fields – Book Review” (20"x20/PechaKucha format) session, providing an opportunity for the speakers to present their new books for other participants and the audience.

* Proceeding: The papers will be published in conference proceeding, which will come out in the Acoustic Space, peer-reviewed journal & book series. The call for full paper submissions will be announced during the conference.


Conference participants:

Jamie ALLEN (CH), Miguel ALMIRON (FR), Sandra ALVARO (ES), Anders-Petter ANDERSSON (NO), Ágnes Karolina BAKK (HU), Marita BATNA (AU), Meghan Moe BEITIKS (US), Julien BELLANGER (FR), Laura BELOFF (DK), Tracey BENSON (AU), Kristin BERGAUST (NO), Erich BERGER (AT / FI / DK), Samir BHOWMIK (FI), Tom BIELING (DE), Maryam BOLOURI (DE), Leonore BONACCINI (FR), Till BOVERMANN (DE), Sabine BREITSAMETER (DE), Jan Hendrik BRUEGGEMEIER (AU), Sarah BURGER (CH), Benjamin CADON (FR), Cédric CARLES (FR), Aigars CEPLĪTIS (LV), Ioan Ovidiu CERNEI (AT), Ewen CHARDRONNET (FR), Alice COLQUHOUN (UK), Geoff COX (NO), Ursula DAMM (DE), Irina DANILOVA (US), Marieke DE JONG (NL), Daniela DE PAULIS (NL), Jurij DOBRIAKOV (LT), Anna DUMITRIU (NL), Ahmed EL-FEKY (NO), Christina ELINGSEN (NO), Lisa ERB (DE), Lucas EVERS (NL), Bobbie FARSIDES (UK), Christian FAUBEL (DE), Cathy FITZGERALD (IE), Patricia FLANAGAN (AU), Frode FLEM (NO), Xavier FOURT (FR), Raune FRANKJÆR (DK), Natalia FUCHS (RU), Gabriela GALATI (IT), Francisco Javier Fernandez GALLARDO (UK), Jānis GARANČS (LV), Verina GFADER (NO), Christina Della GIUSTINA (NL), Wayner GONCALVES (BR), Andy GRACIE (ES), Ance GRICMANE (LV), Artūrs GRUDULS (LV), David GUEZ (FR), Evin GÜLER (NO), K.G. GUTTMANN (NL), Ian GWILT (UK), Chris HALES (UK), Jake HARPER (US), Nadia-Konstantinia HATZIMITRAGA (GR), Christiane HEIBACH (DE), Martin HOWSE (DE), Helena HUNTER (UK), Adam HYDE (US), Ellie IRONS (US), Lucy IRVINE (AU), Liene JAKOBSONE (LV), Alana JELINEK (UK), Terry JENOURE (US), Ryan JORDAN (HK), Owen KELLY (FI), Raivo KELOMEES (EE), Jon KEMP (UK), Raphael KIM (UK), Jānis KLEPERIS (LV), Anne KØLBÆK IVERSEN (NO), Mara-Johanna KOLMEL (DE), Saskia KORSTEN (NL), Marinos KOUTSOMICHALIS (GR), Arendse KRABBE (NL), Matteo LANFRANCHI (IT), Deborah LAWLER-DORMER (NZ), Pēteris LESNIČENOKS (LV), Marie-Eve LEVASSEUR (DE), Manu LUKSCH (AT), Jacob LUND (NO), Armin Medosch (AT), Iris MEIER (US), Margarida MENDES (PT), Vytautas MICHELKEVIČIUS (LT), Anna Maria MONTEVERDI (IT), Tālis MUZIKANTS (LV), Mirko NIKOLIĆ (UK), Azadeh NILCHIANI (FR), Netta NORRO (SI), Vladimirs ŅEMCEVS (LV), Pauline O'CONNELL (IE), Jenny ODELL (US), Thomas ORTIZ (FR), Aneta PANEK (DE), Nedyalka PANOVA (UK), Matt PARKER (UK), Mukul PATEL (UK), Andrew PATERSON (FI), Marko PELJHAN (SI / US), Luke PENDRELL (UK), Krista PĒTERSONE (LV), Susanne PRATT (AU), David QUILES GUILLÓ (ES), Alexandru RAEVSCHI (DE), Grit RUHLAND (DE), Martin RUMORI (AT), Sabina SALLIS (UK), Audrey SAMSON (CA), Przemyslaw SANECKI (UK), Vincenzo SANSONE (IT), Martin SCHNEIDER (DE), Lena SÉRAPHIN (FI), Andreas SIMON (CH), Adilson SIQUEIRA (BR), Eva SJUVE (UK), Ilva SKULTE (LV), Lisa SO YOUNG PARK (HK), Ela SPALDING (PA), Christina STADLBAUER (BE / FI), Justyna STEPIÉN (PL), Minka STOYANOVA (HK), Joanna  SZLAUDERBACH (DE), Ulla TAIPALE (FI), Hege TAPIO (NO), Andris TEIKMANIS (LV), Brad TODD (CA), Jan TORPUS (CH), Milos TRAKILOVIC (DE), Lucas VAN DER VELDEN (NL), Mārtiņš VANAGS (LV), Bart VANDEPUT (BE / FI), Eva VERHOEVEN (UK), Edit Emese VIZER (HU), Rihards VĪTOLS (LV), Yvonne VOLKART (CH), Artis VOLKOVS (LV), Frieda WIK (NO), Danielle WILDE (DK),Amy YOUNGS (US), Solvita ZARIŅA (LV), Emily ZHUKOV (PA), Karolina ŻYNIEWICZ (PL).


The International Conference  Scientific Organizational board:

Prof. Lev MANOVICH / Software Studies Initiative / The Graduate Center, City University of New York, US
PhD. Armin MEDOSCH / Faculty of Media and Communications, Singidunum University, Belgrade, Serbia / Initiator of the Technopolitics working group in Vienna, Austria
PhD. Jussi PARIKKA / Winchester School of Art / University of Southampton / UK
PhD. Geoff COX / School of Communication and Culture, Aarhus University, Denmark
Prof. Kristin BERGAUST / Oslo and Akershus University, Norway
As. prof. Laura BELOFF / IT University in Copenhagen, Denmark / Finnish Bioart Society, Helsinki, Finland
Dr. Lily DIAZ-KOMMONEN / Head of Research Department of Media, Aalto University, School of Arts, Design and Architecture, Helsinki, Finland
Dr. Ursula Damm / Bauhaus University Weimar, Germany – tbc.
Dr. Andris TEIKMANIS / Vice-rector, the Art Academy of Latvia, Riga
Dr. Vytautas MICHELKEVICIUS / Nida Art Colony, Vilnius Academy of Arts, Lithuania
PhD. Margrét Elísabet Ólafsdóttir / Art Education at the University of Akureyri, Iceland
Andrew Gryf PATERSON / Pixelache Helsinki / SERDE / Aalto University ARTS Media department, Helsinki, Finland
Regine DEBATTY /, London, UK – tbc.
Dr. Piibe PIIRMA / Estonian Academy of Arts, Tallinn, Estonia
Dr. Janis KLEPERIS / Hydrogen Laboratory, Solid State Physics Institute, Latvian University, Riga, Latvia
and others – tbc.

Conference Chair: Dr. Rasa SMITE / RIXC / Art Research Lab, Liepaja University, Latvia

The venue of the conference and exhibition: the new building of the National Library of Latvia (


+371 67228478 (office)

+371 26546776 (Rasa Smite)